Made in Le Brassus

SPIRIT OF INDEPENDENCE

Audemars Piguet is more than a company. It remains an independent family business established and still operating in Le Brassus, the cradle of the fine watchmaking.

the founders

Jules Louis Audemars and Edward Auguste Piguet wrote the first pages in the rich history of our Manufacture. Proud members of the tightly knit network of artisans in the Vallée de Joux, they established their firm in 1875. Striking mechanisms, chronographs and astronomical complications were and are the domain of Audemars Piguet. Of the approximately 1,500 watches produced by Audemars Piguet between 1882 and 1892, the company ledgers demonstrate that over 80% of them included at least one complication, and in many instances, numerous complications. 

A masterpiece presented by Jules Louis Audemars, co-founder of Audemars Piguet at the end of his apprenticeship, this watch reflects the grand horological traditions of the Vallée de Joux.

Family spirit

Audemars Piguet is more than a company. it remains independent and family owned, responsible for the transmission of knowledge and know-how to the future generations. here in le brassus, where it all started in 1875.

2nd generation

Paul Louis Audemars | Paul Edward Piguet

3rd generation

Jacques Louis Audemars | Paulette Piguet

4th generation

Jasmine Audemars | Olivier Frank Edward Audemars

Made in Le Brassus

For a very long time

The oldest Audemars Piguet building was designed around a well, so as to draw water from a nearby spring. The workshops grew slowly, accommodating less than 50 people until the 1950s, and then exceeding 100 staff members from the 1970s onwards.

Prior to 1951, when the “model” concept was introduced, each watch was unique. Today, Audemars Piguet remains firmly attached to production of very small series, crafted with the greatest care and demonstrating the utmost respect for watchmaking traditions.

Many chapters of history remain to be written and the pieces that come to life today in Audemars Piguet’s workshops, the very place where the founding fathers took up tools in 1875, may one day be exhibited in its museum, side by side with the masterpieces crafted by the architects of the brand and their ancestors.